Julie Rosenfield

My journal

THE AUTOMAT (POEM)

Automat

Just another coffee, then I’ll go

After all, he didn’t say he’d definitely be here

Only that he’d get away if he could

Which nowadays is not that often

What with his work, and what with her.

* * *

Not that he’ll be with her that much longer.

He’ll probably tell her this weekend

In fact, he would have told her last Sunday

If it hadn’t been for Charlie’s tooth and Amy’s bug.

But he will definitely tell her.

* * *

I wasn’t sure about this hat at first

Yellow’s not really my thing

But the saleswoman was so insistent

And now I’m quite glad of its cover.

* * *

Not that anyone knows me around here

Everyone at home thinks I’m a respectable girl

What will they say when it all comes out?

I’ll be the talk of the typing pool.

* * *

Just another coffee then to keep out the cold

This green coat isn’t nearly as warm as it looks

Its brown, fake fur-lined collar and cuffs

Don’t quite keep out the chill

* * *

They’ll be closing for the night soon

The waitress looks at me pityingly

But I resist asking for the bill

* * *

After all, once, on a night

Like this, just such a night

When I’d quite given up hope

He came bursting through that door

All apologies and carrying flowers

As bright as those peaches in the bowl.

* * *

Of course, it was earlier then

Earlier on, earlier in the evening,

Much nearer to the start of things

How long now? Two years, maybe three

He thinks all he has to do is call

And I’ll come running

Automat-ically.

* * *

‘Another coffee?’ the waitress asks, at last.

‘No thanks. Not for me.’

I think, at last, I’ve had my fill.

The Automat:  painting by Edward Hopper

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “THE AUTOMAT (POEM)

  1. Hi i am kavin, its my first time to commenting anyplace,
    when i read this post i thought i could also create comment due to this good piece of
    writing.

Leave a comment